About > History

The precedent of this department was 'Department of Fine Art' of Seorabol Junior College of Arts founded in 1956, and later in 1964, the college was promoted to a 4-year-course university of the same name, and in 1972, was merged into Chung-Ang University; the department was changed into the Department of Painting, College of Arts of the latter university.

In 1990, the Department of Western Painting was branched off the Department of Painting to meet the new goal of the university; development of specialty and professionalism of each department. Recently or in 2011, the departments and schools of Chung-Ang University were reshuffled, and sine then, the Department of Western Painting belongs to School of Fine Art, College of Arts.

    • Establish Art and Crafts department, Seorabul Art College
    • Art and Crafts department, Seorabul Art College unified by Chung-Ang College of Art
    • Department of Art and Crafts, Chung-Ang University College of Art Selects first freshman
    • Establish Masters Course
    • College of Art moved to Ansung Campus
    • Ansung Campus selected freshman
    • Established Department of Industrial Design
    • Established Design management Center
    • Established Doctor’s course of Design department
    • Established Department of Visual Design
Western Painting major
Chung-Ang University


  • 456-756 | 4726 Seodongdae-ro, Daedeok-myeon, Anseong-si, Gyeonggi Province, South Korea